My Parkinson’s journey: Part 1 – The early days

I was diagnosed with Parkinson’s towards the end of 2013 after several months of waiting. If you asked me to describe the year that followed, the word that springs to mind is ‘struggle’. In 2014, I was going through some particularly challenging times, add to that being newly diagnosed with Parkinson’s at the age of 36, ‘struggle’ is putting it mildly.

I spent much of 2014 feeling stressed, angry and upset – all of which aggravated my Parkinson’s symptoms – which in turn, made me feel more stressed, angry, upset and negative. I hated feeling that way and I was turning into someone I didn’t even recognise. Eventually, towards the end of the year, things got better as my circumstances changed.

As a result of my experiences the previous year, I was determined not to allow myself to become that negative, angry person again. So while 2014 was a struggle, 2015 was about determination and acceptance. I spent much of 2015 taking control, focusing on my priorities and in doing so, slowly learning to accept my diagnosis.

By the end of 2015, I was in a much better place. I read an article suggesting that rather than making new year’s resolutions, you choose a word to focus on.  I decided that while I’d come a long way, I needed to step out of my comfort zone to keep moving forward. And so I chose to focus on the word ‘bold’ for 2016…more about this in my next post…

Leave a Reply

