Staying focused

Sometimes life can seem overwhelming. Those times when there just seems to be so much going on – good and perhaps not so good – in every aspect of life. Those are the times I need to stay focused on what’s important and distinguish between what I can control and what I can’t.

A few weeks ago, I had been feeling tired after a particularly bad night’s sleep. I don’t sleep too well anyway – something I have in common with many other people with Parkinson’s, I’ve discovered. I went into panic mode over a situation, which on a different day, in a different mood, would not have phased me too much. A situation over which I had little control. I momentarily forgot that one thing I did have control over, was my reaction to it. But it was too late. Panic and anxiety nowadays aggravate my symptoms. Which I can do without.

There’s a lot going on right now in my life – and much of it is ongoing. But what I need to do is to stay focused on what’s important. And try not to worry about the things I can’t control. Looking after myself has to be my focus. I want to be as well as I can be, with more good days than bad. I also want to be there for my family and friends. And I want to be able to focus on the here and now – without being distracted by anxious thoughts about things which may or may not happen. I need to keep my precious energy for things I can control. I need to focus on being grateful for all the good things in my life. I believe this will help me to become more resilient, so I will cope better with whatever life may bring me.

It’s a challenge for me sometimes, but I am slowly taking small steps in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

