It may have changed me, but Parkinson’s is only part of me

Life is full of changes – big and small. Some changes are exciting, some can be scary. Some changes are unwanted.

My life as I knew it, changed completely the day I was diagnosed with Parkinson’s. It was as though my world had been turned upside down, and I was stepping out into a big unknown space.

PDisonlypartofme

Big changes such as these take time to accept. There’s an element of wanting things to stay the same. And although I didn’t realise it at the time, there was also sadness at losing my old life. Acceptance of this major change to my life was a slow process. But even though I couldn’t see where I was going, by taking one small step at a time, I began to let go of ‘the way things used to be’. And I started to accept the fact that I have Parkinson’s. Slowly, I learned (and am still learning) to live with Parkinson’s the best way I know how.

The challenges of accepting that I have Parkinson’s, and living with it on a daily basis, have undoubtedly changed me. I am very grateful that, with much support from those around me – including members of Start Living Today PD – I’ve grown stronger and more resilient.

Although I have Parkinson’s, and it has changed me, I am determined not to let it define me. I do have to live with it – which means adapting the way I live and making different choices. But I am still me. Parkinson’s is only part of me.

#ParkinsonsisOnlyPartofMe

#SLTPD

Start Living Today PD: www.startlivingtodaypd.co.uk

Thank you to my friend Heidi Reynolds (founder of Start Living Today PD) for allowing me to use her beautiful photograph of a butterfly.

#PDisonlypartofme

Leave a Reply

