Everyone has a choice

One of the things that helped me to truly accept my diagnosis of Parkinson’s Disease is when I realised that I always have a choice. I didn’t choose to have Parkinson’s, but I can choose how I live with it. That was the theme of one of my early blogs – Choices, choices and more choices.

However, I am not the only one making choices all the time. Everyone is constantly making choices. And what I can’t do is control other people’s choices.

Sometimes, I find it difficult to accept other people’s choices. Especially when I just don’t understand their choices. However, I know that everyone is of course entitled to make their own choices and we’re all different. We’re all responsible for own actions and choices and we all do what we believe is right for us.

That doesn’t mean that people can’t change their minds and make different choices later – people change and things are not fixed in stone. However, it’s other people’s choice to change if and when they want to. We’re only responsible for our own choices and actions.

I’m learning (extremely slowly) that I really don’t need to understand other people’s choices / actions. I just need to find a way to accept them.

I think the best we can hope for, is that those around us, accept and respect our choices and we respect and accept theirs. And somehow to be at peace with that.

Leave a Reply

