A change of pace

I’ve always been quite a fast person. I learnt to play the piano when I was a child. In my teens, my piano teacher used to say I was the only person he knew, who would speed up when it got to a difficult bit in the music. Likewise, I’ve always spoken quite fast and would speed up when I was nervous. I had to learn to consciously slow down.

The thing with Parkinson’s is that it slows me down. I physically can’t do things as fast as I used to. I am a quick person by nature, so I do find that extremely frustrating.

I am grateful that for the most part, I can still maintain my walking pace. A very good friend of mine told me recently that I was walking really well, and that really meant a lot to me. That was at a good point of that particular day – in fact later that day, we even skipped! But at other times – when I’m tired / on a bad day / when my meds are wearing off, I know I walk much slower – with more wearied footsteps.

I need to accept that sometimes my pace will be slower, and I’m not just talking about walking. But I’m slowly (haha) learning to be ok with that. In the grand scheme of things, it isn’t important if some things take me longer. The important thing is that I keep moving forwards, and growing and learning as I do so.

Growth trellis

 

 

Leave a Reply

